Grahak Seva Kendra

+91 9990146145, 9990143166

Overview of Indian Revenue Service (IRS) Exams

Indian Revenue Service (IRS) is a prestigious civil services examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) to recruit candidates for various posts related to revenue administration in the country.

The IRS examination is one of the most sought-after and competitive exams in India. The revenue department is responsible for collecting and managing the direct and indirect taxes that are paid by the citizens and businesses of the country.

The IRS exam is one of the most challenging exams in India, as it offers a career in civil services with a lot of power and responsibility. It is conducted in three stages – Preliminary Exam, Main Exam, and Personality Test (Interview).

The first stage of the IRS examination is the Preliminary Exam. It consists of two papers: General Studies Paper I and the Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT).

General Studies Paper I tests the candidate’s knowledge of various subjects such as history, geography, economics, politics, science, and current affairs.

CSAT focuses on testing the candidate’s aptitude and reasoning skills. Both papers are of objective type and carry equal weightage.

The Preliminary Exam is a qualifying stage, and the marks obtained are not counted for the final merit list.

The Candidates who clear the Preliminary Exam are eligible for the Main Exam, which is the most crucial stage of the IRS examination.

The Main Exam consists of nine papers, out of which six papers are counted for merit ranking.

The six papers include

  1. Essay, General Studies
  2. General Studies
  3. General Studies
  4. General Studies
  5. Optional Subject Paper
  6. Optional Subject Paper

The Essay paper tests the candidate’s ability to express their thoughts and opinions on a given topic.

The General Studies papers cover a wide range of subjects including history, geography, economics, polity, science, technology, and current affairs.

The Optional Subject papers are chosen by the candidates from a list of subjects provided by the UPSC.

The Main Exam is a subjective type of examination, and the marks obtained in these papers are counted for the final merit list.

After clearing the Main Examination, candidates are called for the Personality Test, also known as the Interview.

The Interview assesses the candidates’ personality, communication skills, and suitability for the role of an IRS officer.

It is conducted by a board of competent and unbiased members. The final selection of candidates for the IRS is based on their performance in the Main Exam and Personality Test.

The marks obtained in the Main Exam and Interview are added together to determine the final merit list.

The IRS examination is known for its high level of competition, and only a limited number of candidates are selected each year.

To prepare for the IRS exam, you need a strategic study plan and dedication. You should start their preparation well in advance and cover all the relevant topics.

You should refer to standard textbooks, newspapers, magazines, and online resources for their study material.

Solving previous years’ question papers and taking mock tests will help them understand the exam pattern and improve their time management skills.

For the last, believe in yourself and do preparation with dedication.


We are India’s best online Grahak Seva Kendra, today we have a huge range of the best Grahak Seva services, with the help of which any individual can take advantage of it at a very affordable price. We offer a wide range of services such as bill payments, ITR filing, GST filing and returns, driving license services, PAN card services, etc. which make it easy for users to pay online and enjoy hassle free transactions.

You can easily get any of your government or no government documents verified at Grahak Seva Kendra New Apply across India at your convivence with instant and secure transactions.

Scroll to Top